A Painful Lesson For Tiger Woods

Someone should have taught Tiger Woods how to do the media dance; I had to learn the hard way. Although our Florida neighborhoods are only 30 miles apart, our paths will certainly never cross.

However, what Woods and I DO have in common is our public visibility. As a public health employee, my life is an open book.

A few years ago I had to report a former boss for inappropriate behavior based on several patients’ complaints. The case “blew up” because of his notoriety as both an elected official and a physician and I ended up with the media on my doorstep.  The reporter, camera crew and satellite truck remained parked in front of my home for almost three hours, reported the 11:00 o’clock news and then finally left. Although I didn’t speak with them that night, I knew that I would have to do so the next day. “Never say ‘no comment’” was the advice that I had been given from a law enforcement agent who was investigating the case.               

When I reported to work, a public information officer suggested that I participate in an elaborate scheme to avoid the media. And when I flatly refused, she told me that “I was on my own.”

The maintenance man and a secretary accompanied me as I walked out the door and faced the paparazzi. It was one of the most difficult days of my life. However, I was polite, non-judgmental and advised them that I was leaving the matter in the hands of the courts. My former boss lost his medical license and was removed from political office by the Governor. He faced criminal charges and the case dragged on for years.

In the court of public opinion Tiger, a lie unchallenged becomes the truth. The media is NOT going to go away.

2 thoughts on “A Painful Lesson For Tiger Woods

  1. Pingback: Tiger Woods is Right | Matt Eventoff

  2. WHY IS IT MOST MEN, AND THOSE THAT ARE IN POWER AND INFLUENCE, ARE AFFILICTED WITH THE “SYNDROME” OF BEING LED AROUND BY THAT “SMALL BRAIN” THAT IS IN THEIR PANTS. I AM SO GLAD THAT I AM A WOMEN OF GOOD MORAL JUDGEMENT. (I WOULD NEVER KISS AND TELL).
    WHAT HAPPENS BETWEEN MARRIED COUPLES IS THEIR BUSINESS, BUT WHEN YOU DO “SOMETHING STUPID” AND IT BECOMES PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE YOU AS A WIFE CAN TAKE WHATEVER ACTION IS NECESSARY. THAT IS WHAT HIS WIFE DID! (SHE PROBABLY USED ONE OF HIS GOLF CLUBS TO DO IT).
    ENOUGH SAID. MEN KEEP THE “SMALL BRAIN” UNDER CONTROL, LEAVE THE OTHER WOMEN ALONE, AND GO HOME AT NIGHT!

Leave a Reply

